## County of Alameda Elections Commission

Location: Via Zoom/In person

Alameda County Training & Education Center

125 – 12<sup>th</sup> Street, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor

Suite 400 Hayward/Union City Rooms

Oakland, CA 94612

Date: December 6, 2023 Time: 4:00PM – 6:00PM

# **Minutes**

#### A. Call to Order and Roll Call

The first monthly Elections Commission meeting of December 6, 2023, convened at 4:00 p.m. in the Hayward/Union City Rooms. The clerk, Noe Lucio, ROV, called to order the first Elections Commission meeting of the County of Alameda.

#### **Present**

Commission Members: Anna Brown, Karen A. Butter, Avni Desai, Helen Hutchison, James R. Lindsay, Pamela Ferran, Alexander H. Ramon, Stephanie F. Singer, Zabrae Valentine; Registrar of Voters: Tim Dupuis, Cynthia Cornejo, Lolita Francisco, Noe Lucio, Ray Lara, Charles Smithline.

#### **Not Present**

Commission Member: Susan R. Henderson

#### **B.** Introduction

The new members introduced themselves and provided their professional background.

### C. Appoint an Elections Commission President and Vice President

There was discussion about a commission member who hasn't been sworn in. All members present have been sworn in, except Anna Brown. Ms. Brown must be sworn in, although she is in a non-voting seat. Quorum has been met.

Ray Lara advised, at the Board's pleasure, the commission members may nominate the president. The president will run the meeting, the vice president would run the meeting if the president is absent. A member asked if Robert's Rules of Order must be followed, Ray Lara

indicated that the rules would not be followed rigidly, but generally. Typically, the president doesn't make a motion.

A motion made by Stephanie Singer to nominate Helen Hutchison to be president was made and seconded Karen A. Butter.

A substitute motion to defer the item was made by Pamela Ferran, seconded by Stephanie Singer.

A motion was made by James Lindsay to vote on the first motion and nominate Pamela Ferran as the vice president. He requested that the substitute motion be withdrawn. Ms. Ferran declined to withdraw the substitute motion.

The commission voted 8-0, Helen Hutchison, President; Pamela Ferran, Vice President

Ther clerk handed over the meeting to the new president and vice president.

### D. Monthly Agreement to Hold Meetings

A motion for the commission to meet on the third Thursday of each month, 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. was made by James R. Lindsay and seconded by Alexander H. Ramon, approved with an 8-0 vote.

### E. Planning

### a. Commission to develop a process for appointing and selecting four (4) At-large seats.

Commission set a goal of nominating the four members before the March 5, 2024, election. A motion was made by Zabrae Valentine to establish a sub-committee on nominations, consisting of Stephanie Singer, Pamela Ferran, and Alexander Ramon, to review the applications already received and generate more applications from impacted communities, and the motion was seconded by James R. Linsay. The commission voted approved with an 8-0 vote.

#### b. Provide timeline for accepting applications.

Helen Hutchison suggested the sub-committee set their own soft deadline of the next meeting, January 18, 2024.

#### F. Public Comment

Public comment was allowed for all agenda items.

### G. Recap & Close

The next meeting of the Elections Commission is set for Thursday, January 18, 2024 at 4:00 p.m.

### **H.** Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 6:36 p.m.